Skip to content

All of Me Loves All of You

April 17, 2014

Every time I get in the car, I hear the same song playing on the radio. The first time I heard it, I was driving home from our Ash Wednesday service. With the start of Lent still fresh on my mind, I think I heard the lyrics in a slightly different way than they were intended. I’m talking about John Legend’s “All of Me.” A few of the lyrics really caught my attention…

“‘Give your all to me, I’ll give my all to you. You’re my end and my beginning, even when I lose I’m winning.”

Yes, it’s a love song. Most likely intended for two people in a mutually loving relationship. And while not all of the lyrics work, there are certain lines that I feel could be transformed into a love song for God. Or from God.

“How many times do I have to tell you, even when you’re crying you’re beautiful too. The world is beating you down, I’m around.”

All of Me

When we look at this song through the lens of our relationship with Christ, it can be truly beautiful to sing…”Give your all to me, I’ll give my all to you.” What would it look like if we gave all that we are and all that we had to Jesus? What would it be like to believe a God that tells us that even when we’re struggling, even when we’re crying, even when the world is beating us down, God is there for us? God is the beginning and the end, the Alpha and Omega. God is our everything.

When I hear the lyrics on the radio, they also remind me of a quote I’ve seen plastered all over the Internet, as motivational slogans, on so many t-shirts. It says, “All it takes is all you’ve got.”

All It Takes

Again, it’s intended to be a sport slogan, encouraging the cheerleader, the runner, the athlete to give all they have to the sport or the game. We’re so willing to give all that we are and all that we have to win a trophy or a race or a competition. Are we willing to give all that we are and all that we have to God?

We give of ourselves entirely in a relationship, and people call it love, or working hard to make a marriage work. We give of ourselves entirely in a sport and people call it dedicated and disciplined. What do they call it when we give of ourselves entirely in our faith? In our relationship with Christ? In our discipline to God?

On this Maundy Thursday, I think of one man who gave his all to God. One man who said, “All of me loves all of you.” One man who proved that all it takes is all you’ve got, and then he gave all he had. Are we willing to give even a portion of that devotion back?

“Give your all to me, I’ll give my all to you.” What would that look like for you?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

