Skip to content

Forgive me…

March 7, 2014

Forgive me blogosphere, for I have sinned. It’s been over a year since my last entry. I guess Lent is the perfect time for confession, right? So let me confess that while it has been a very busy and exciting year, I simply have not made the time to share my thoughts on life. In my defense though, I’m probably writing more now than ever before, but most of that writing goes into the sermons I preach every week. But because there is so much more in my head that never makes it into a sermon, I have devoted this season of Lent to spend more time writing. There is just something about writing that helps me put all my thoughts together, helps me figure out theological truths better, helps me put my mind at ease because I am finally able to get some of the conversations and ideas out of my head and onto paper (or screen).

ImageIf you stayed awake through the end of the Oscars last week, you may have heard Robert De Niro introducing the awards for Best Adapted Screenplay. He said, “The mind of a writer can be a truly terrifying thing. Isolated, neurotic, caffeine addled, crippled by procrastination, and consumed by feelings of panic, self-loathing, and soul crushing inadequacy. And that’s on a good day.” Intended to get a laugh, it actually spoke very poignantly of the process many writers go through to produce something that others will want to read, want to hear, want to take to heart.

So here goes nothing. From now until Easter I plan to spend some time each day focusing my thoughts into written word, and occasionally sharing them with the world (well, with all 13 subscribers). You are welcome to come along for the journey throughout these forty days.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 25, 2014 4:23 pm

    glad you are writing again. I kind of am too. though for different reasons.

Leave a Reply

