Skip to content

End of week reflections

February 23, 2011

So I am completely behind in my blogging, and I’m well aware.  But, I figured most people would rather me spend time out seeing things, experiencing the country, and getting the most out of this experience that I can as opposed to staying locked up in my hotel room blogging every free moment I had.  So that’s what I’ve done.  I’ve lived and experienced, and now I have so many stories to tell.  That being said…I’ll catch up and pick up right where I left off when I get home, I promise.  You’ll hear every gory detail soon enough.  You’ll hear about the camel ride, the pit, bathing in mud, the lunch that looked back, every single church on every single spot Jesus was born, raised, preached, mocked, killed, buried, and resurrected.  But tonight, my last official night in Israel…let me share a few things I’ve learned.

1. This trip has been everything and nothing like I expected.

2. Everybody in the Bible was apparently born in a cave.

3. Any place can be made holy.

4. If someone thought Jesus might have possibly stood, walked, appeared, or spat on a particular rock, they build a church around it.

5. The Bishop truly has a gift for preaching and teaching, and has a true passion for being with his people.  His thoughts, enthusiasm, and very presence have made this trip exceptional.

6. Everything is ridiculously expensive in the Holy Land.

7. There’s a whole other story about this land, from Palestinian vs. Jewish struggles, to anything else you can imagine, that you never hear about, but that must be told.  And I intend to learn more.

8. There’s no way Jesus could’ve been a carpenter.  Looking around this place, everything, and I mean everything, is make of rock.

9. I have the deepest admiration and respect for my fellow clergy and truly appreciate, value, and need their companionship on a regular basis.

10. There is just too much to take in during one trip.  I will come back and bring others to experience this, because it will change the way you think and see the world forever.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    February 23, 2011 10:40 pm

    I can’t wait to read more.
    I would love to go one day. You are bringing the experience alive for the rest of us.

  2. February 23, 2011 10:49 pm

    Julie, I would love to sit down with you and share some of that “other” story. Would love it! I’m so thrilled for you and the time you’ve been able to spend. I have enjoyed reading your blogs and can’t wait to hear more!!!!

    Robin

  3. March 9, 2011 5:47 pm

    can’t wait to read more. Will you be blogging regularly from now on? I certainly hope so. I like your “voice”
    Deirdre

Leave a Reply

